This site uses cookies to provide you with more responsive and personalized service and to collect certain information about your use of the site.  You can change your cookie settings through your browser.  If you continue without changing your settings, you agree to our use of cookies.  See our Privacy Policy for more information.

  • Making the Team

Available Formats

Format: eBook
Your Price: $1.99

Product Description

The Alec London Series is a series written for boys, 8 – 10 years old.  Alec London is introduced in Stephanie Perry Moore's previously released series, The Morgan Love Series.  In this new series, readers get a glimpse of Alec's life up close and personal. The series provides moral lessons that will aid in character development, teaching boys how to effectively deal with the various issues they face at this stage of life. The series will also help boys develop their english and math skills as they read through the stories and complete the entertaining and educational exercises provided at the end of each chapter and in the back of the book.

Alec London is a fourth grader whose world is spinning out of control.  On the first day of fourth grade Alec gets picked on by his classmate, Tyrod because he dad is the schools new principal.  Alec, refusing to become the "principal's pet", attempts to fix things by lashing out at Tyrod.  As a result he is sent to the principal's office where he receives a lecture on anger from his dad.

In the midst of trying to adjust having his dad at school with him, Alec finds himself struggling even more when his mom decides to move to L.A. to pursue an acting job, leaving her family behind.  Alec is angry and sad and he feel betrayed by his mom for leaving him for a job.  Alec grandma moves in with them after his mother leaves to help keep the family going until she comes back.  Alec is not happy with his mom's move nor his grandma's move.  When Alec, out of frustrations says he wishes his grandma was not there and she overhears him and then later has a heart attack, Alec feels guilty.

In an attempt to help lift Alec's spirit and encourage him to use his anger for something good, Alec's dad suggests that he try out for the school football team.  When Alec makes the team, beating out his brother Antoine for a starting position, there is trouble. Antoine becomes jealous because Alec is not only doing better than him in school but now in football too.  Dad steps in and makes the boys work things out.

Through football, lessons from his father and the story of Joseph, Alec learns about how God allows things to happen in people's lives to help them grow and to learn how to trust and depend on Him to work things out.

About the Authors

Stephanie-Perry Moore
STEPHANIE PERRY MOORE is the author of many Young Adult Christian fiction titles, including the Payton Skky series, the Laurel Shadrach series, the Perry Skky Jr. series, the Faith Thomas Novelzine series, the Carmen Browne series, and the Beta Gamma Pi series. She is also the co-editor for the impactful BibleZine, REAL. Mrs. Moore speaks with young people across the country, showing them how they can live life fully and do it God's way. Stephanie currently lives in the greater Atlanta area with her husband, Derrick, a former NFL player and author, and their three children. Visit her website at

Derrick-C Moore
DERRICK MOORE is a former NFL athlete who played for the Detroit Lions, Carolina Panthers, and Arizona Cardinals following his successful college football career. Since his retirement from the NFL in 1998 he has been in demand as a motivational speaker for professional teams, civic groups, churches, and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes. He is on staff with FCA, serving as the chaplain of the football program at Georgia Tech. Derrick is the author of The Great Adventure and the general editor for the Strength and Honor Bible. He and his wife, Stephanie, a Christian fiction novelist, live in greater Atlanta area with their two daughters.

Related Products

Product Details

ISBN: 978-0-8024-7874-0
Publish Date: September 2011
Format: eBook