This site uses cookies to provide you with more responsive and personalized service and to collect certain information about your use of the site.  You can change your cookie settings through your browser.  If you continue without changing your settings, you agree to our use of cookies.  See our Privacy Policy for more information.

 

  • Go Outside: ...And 19 Other Keys to Thriving in Your 20s

Go Outside: ...And 19 Other Keys to Thriving in Your 20s

Available Formats

Format: Paperback
List Price: $14.99
Your Price: $11.99
You save: $3.00 (20%)

Product Description

We all wish we could go back. 

In Go Outside, Jared and Becky Wilson imagine the advice they'd give if they could travel back in time. Like Solomon in Ecclesiastes, as we get older, we lament and regret the desires and behaviors of our youth. But what if you could avoid some of the pitfalls and pain so many people experience?

After 25 years of marriage and even more years following Jesus, Jared and Becky provide vital words of wisdom and encouragement to make the season of your youth a time of joy and fruitful investment in the future. You can build your legacy now based on this important biblical counsel. Filled with warmth and personal stories, the Wilsons explore topics such as:

  • You'll never regret time spent with Jesus
  • Church membership isn't optional
  • Chasing your dreams is overrated
  • Take care of your mind and body
  • Never try to be the expert in the room
  • Learn to be friends with Jesus
  • If you want to live the eternal kind of life, center on the gospel
  • Go Outside. . . and much, much more

This book includes twenty short chapters that will set—or keep—your story on the right track. Read it with friends and share it with the ones you love.


About the Authors

Jared-C Wilson
JARED C. WILSON is Assistant Professor of Pastoral Ministry and Author in Residence at Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary and the Director of the Pastoral Training Center at Liberty Baptist Church in Kansas City, Missouri. He has authored over twenty books. He and his wife, Becky, has been married twenty-five years and have dedicated this latest season of their lives to the mentoring and discipling of young men and women.

Becky Wilson
BECKY WILSON has nearly twenty years experience in Christian publishing, having served in the retail division of Lifeway Christian Resources. She has served many years as a pastor's wife and is currently a homemaker.

Endorsements

This book is a wonderful exercise in showing that gospel-centrality and practical advice are not at odds with one another. Jared and Becky Wilson have brought together biblical wisdom, theological reflection, and practical experience to deliver the reader wise and sound council on variegated topics—ranging from friendships, money, marriage, the local church, and more. This book reminds readers that who God is and what He is doing in the world impacts every facet of our life, and the Wilsons are the right couple to draw our attention to this cosmic reality.
Ronni Kurtz
Assistant Professor of Theology at Cedarville University and author of Fruitful Theology: How the Life of the Mind Leads to the Life of the Soul

Go Outside is a treasure trove of wisdom for all present, future, and even former twentysomethings. It is filled with wit, written from a loving heart, and has the markers of battle-tested wisdom from years of serving this age group. The Wilsons also excel at blending practical advice with sound theology. Some chapters address the complex relational nuances of early adulthood (finding a mentor, being the only young person in a church, wanting to be married) while others plumb the depths of crucial doctrines and apply them to the Christian life.
Tony Merida
Pastor, Imago Dei Church, Raleigh, NC

I remember my twenties and desperately wondering where I could find a manual on "How to Live Life," and Jared and Becky have managed to write something that's pretty close to a true guide. This book is full of gospel-fueled truths, practical advice, humor, and real-life applications for not just young adults but anyone who has the pleasure of reading it. Hand this out to your kids, your graduates, your grandkids, your friends, and maybe spend some time in it yourself for a good dose of wisdom for life.
Andrea Burke
Director of Women's Ministry at Grace Road Church

Jared and Becky have given us a blueprint for the well-lived life that manages not to read like a religious rulebook but a hopeful, Jesus-centered vision for how to get the most joy out of the life God has given. It's clear, honest, taut, and to the point. I can't wait to share it with folks!
Jimmy Needham
Singer-songwriter, speaker, and pastor

Jared and Becky draw from years of life and ministry to offer sage wisdom for the emerging generation. Humorous and instructive, but full of gospel-driven encouragement, Go Outside should be dropped into the hands of teens, students, and young adults who desire godly, but never preachy, insights for the soul.
Ronnie Martin 
Lead Pastor of Substance Church in Ashland, OH, and coauthor of Pastoring Small Towns 

As one who considers myself to be very indoorsy, the title of Jared and Becky Wilson's new book felt like a personal attack. In all seriousness, I have always considered Jared to be the gospel-centered Yoda, and with the wit and wisdom of Becky as the coauthor, I am grateful the gospel-centered convictions are being applied to very practical life to help a generation of young adults live a life that brings glory to God and flourish. "While you have the energy, use it to serve and to love," the Wilsons tell us in the book, and we need a generation of Christians to take this call seriously. This book is fun, honest, practical, serious about the gospel, and directed toward a demographic often overlooked in Christian conversation. I'm excited to have our twenty- and thirtysomethings in our church read it together in small groups.
Dean Inserra
Pastor, City Church Tallahassee; author of The Unsaved Christian, Getting Over Yourself, and Pure

Jared and Becky have poured valuable wisdom into these pages with authenticity, transparency, and biblical accuracy. The next generation needs to look to their example because they show us how to look to Christ in practical and relatable ways. I can only wish that this book was written when I was in my twenties, but find great joy that countless lives will have this godly insight for one of the most foundational seasons of life.
Costi Hinn
Teaching Pastor, Shepherd's House Bible Church; founder and president, For the Gospel

As the parent of two teenagers, I've learned that if someone besides me tells them the same thing once that I have told them one hundred times, they actually listen to the other person. So thank God for those other people! In Go Outside, Jared and Becky are those other voices who share clear, blunt, biblical, practical wisdom for young people in the vein of Proverbs and Ecclesiastes. They point young people to Jesus with actionable, encouraging steps. I am eager for my daughters to read this book and to get it in the hands of young adults at our church to help them live faithfully for Jesus.
Barnabas Piper
Pastor and author

Product Details

ISBN: 978-0-8024-2826-4
Publish Date: May 2023
Dimensions: 5 x 7
Format: Paperback